How USDCAD relates to Silver?‏

General discussions about futures.
Post Reply
oem7110
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:33 pm

How USDCAD relates to Silver?‏

Post by oem7110 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:12 am

Referring to following article, I would like to know on how USDCAD-short positions would give you exposure to moves in Silver, Oil and Gold prices,

Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions

The Canadian Dollar remains highly correlated to oil prices and broader commodity prices, seen clearly through its strong short-term link to moves in silver markets. ... the USDCAD has proven itself more sensitive to moves in silver markets than to its more traditional correlation—crude oil prices.

We see the Canadian Dollar as an attractive proxy to positions in Silver prices and other commodity markets. Canadian interest rates are slightly above those in the United States, and USDCAD-short positions pay modest interest. Such positions would give you exposure to moves in Silver, Oil, and Gold prices—where you would otherwise pay interest to stay long.

The Canadian Dollar should continue higher (USDCAD lower) if silver prices and crude oil prices trade to fresh highs.


http://www.dailyfx.com/forex/technical/ ... ollar.html

sluggo
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 2986
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:50 pm

Post by sluggo » Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:59 am

Why did you post this message in the "Futures Markets" area of the Forum? Scroll down the Index and you'll see there is a "Forex" area -- which seems to be the actual topic of your request-for-help.

oem7110
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:33 pm

Post by oem7110 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:14 am

sluggo wrote:Why did you post this message in the "Futures Markets" area of the Forum? Scroll down the Index and you'll see there is a "Forex" area -- which seems to be the actual topic of your request-for-help.
I cannot find Forex area, could you please post a link?

Thank you very much for any suggestions :>

sluggo
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 2986
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:50 pm

Post by sluggo » Wed Jul 02, 2014 2:21 pm

sluggo wrote:Scroll down the Index and you'll see there is a "Forex" area
Here is a screen capture image
Attachments
screen_img.png
screen_img.png (89.29 KiB) Viewed 6504 times

oem7110
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:33 pm

Post by oem7110 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:11 pm

Under my login, Forex is not available on forum selection, would it be account's limitation? could administrator look into my case? so I can post question under Forex forum.

Under Brokers and Markets, there are only Stocks, Future Market and Brokers available for selection.

Do you have any suggestions?
Thank you very much for any suggestions :>

LeviF
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 1428
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Post by LeviF » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:48 pm

Funny, i dont have that category on my screen either...

Turtle40
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:53 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Post by Turtle40 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:50 am

Same here.....

rhc
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 8:46 pm
Location: Oz

Post by rhc » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:27 am

ditto

Jake Carriker
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1493
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:32 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Post by Jake Carriker » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:39 am

You have to be registered and logged in to access certain forums. That is one of them.

altomas

Post by altomas » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:58 pm

Logged in - but still I do not see?

bobsyd
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:49 pm

Post by bobsyd » Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:30 am

Ditto. Is there anyone out there other than Sluggo who can see it?

Turtle40
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:53 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Post by Turtle40 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:26 am

Good question-I'm logged in but no access....Do you have to be current with the maintenance program perhaps??

fab1usa1
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: New York

Post by fab1usa1 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:03 am

same here.

marriot
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:02 am

Post by marriot » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:13 am

me too

Jake Carriker
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1493
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:32 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Post by Jake Carriker » Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:07 pm

Ah, looks like a forum cleanup a while back changed that forum's permissions. I just changed them back to allow more general access. Sorry about the confusion.

fab1usa1
Roundtable Knight
Roundtable Knight
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: New York

Post by fab1usa1 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:50 pm

Works for me, thanks!

Post Reply